Tue. Feb 7th, 2023

Rohit Sharma Out Of 1st Test vs Bangladesh, KL Rahul To Lead India In His Absence

India captain Rohit Sharma was excluded from the first Test against Bangladesh because of thumb injuries.

Rohit Sharma Excluded From 1st Test in Bangladesh, KL Rahul To lead India in His absence India’s captain Rohit Sharma was disqualified from the opening Test against Bangladesh because of thumb injury. 

India captain Rohit Sharma was on Sunday exiled from the opening Test against Bangladesh because of thumb injuries. The BCCI has named Abhimanyu Easwaran to replace him for the first Test scheduled for Wednesday 14 December. Rohit suffered a blow to his left thumb when he fielded during the second ODI game against Bangladesh during the week of Mirpur in India. He was treated at the local hospital. Easwaran joins the team having scored 299 runs over 2 games with the India “A” team currently on tour in Bangladesh. KL Rahul will be the captain of the side when he is not available.

BCCI added that they would later decide regarding Rohit’s availability to play this second Test.

“India captain Rohit Sharma has seen an expert in Mumbai to address his thumb injury to the left, that he sustained in the 2nd ODI match against Bangladesh. The doctor has advised him on the right treatment for the injury and is not expected to be able to play in the first Test in the series against Bangladesh. In the meantime, the BCCI Medical Team will take the decision on his fitness for the final test at a later date. In the meantime, “The All-India Senior Selection Committee has selected Abhimanyu Easwaran to replace him for the first Test.” the BCCI stated in an announcement.

Navdeep Saini and Saurabh Kumar were also included in India’s team, with pacer Mohammed Shami and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja yet to fully recover due to their injuries.

The veteran sprinter Jaydev Unadkat was also recalled to the team after his performance in the domestic circuit in Saurashtra.

“Fast bowler Mohd. Shami along with all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja have yet completely recovered from knee and shoulder injuries and are off the series of Tests. The selection committee has named Navdeep Saini as well as Saurabh Kumar to replace Shami as well as Jadeja respectively. The selection committee also included quick bowler Jaydev Unadkat to India’s squad for the Test series.” the statement reads.

The updated Indian squad to play in the Bangladesh Tests KL Rahul (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara (VC), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav Shardul Thakur Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *